Executive Board

The League's Executive Board serves as the policy setting body in the work of the representing the state's 565 Municipal governments. Sharing their time, their efforts, and their knowledge, they continually strive to improve Municipal government throughout the Garden State.


James CassellaJames L. Cassella, President

Mayor, East Rutherford

Click to read bio

Colleen MahrColleen Mahr, 1st Vice President

Mayor, Fanwood

Click to read bio

James PerryJames J. Perry, 2nd Vice President

Committeeman, Hardwick

Click to read bio

Janice KovatchJanice Kovach, 3rd Vice President

Mayor, Clinton Town

Click to read bio

Executive Board Members

Ras BarakaRas Baraka

Mayor, Newark

Gayle MittlerGayle Brill Mittler

Mayor, Highland Park

Randy BrownRandy Brown

Mayor, Evesham

William ChegwiddenWilliam J. Chegwidden

Mayor, Wharton

Frank DruetzlerFrank J. Druetzler

Mayor, Morris Plains

Johnathan DunleavyJonathan Dunleavy

Mayor, Bloomingdale

Sean ElwellSean Elwell

Mayor, Elsinboro

Dan FlynnDan Flynn

Councilman, Newton

Steven FulopSteven Fulop

Mayor, Jersey City

Raymond HeckRaymond Heck

Mayor, Millstone

Sue Howard

Sue Howard

Mayor, Monmouth Beach

Thomas KelaherThomas F. Kelaher

Mayor, Toms River

Albert KellyAlbert B. Kelly

Mayor, Bridgeton
Immediate Past President

Liz LempertLiz Lempert

Mayor, Princeton

Gary PassananteGary Passanante

Mayor, Somerdale

Will PikolyckyWilliam Pikolycky

Mayor, Woodbine

Paul TomaskoPaul Tomasko

Mayor, Alpine

Janet TucciJanet Tucci

Mayor, West Long Branch

Jesse TweedleJesse Tweedle, Sr.

Mayor, Pleasantville City

Michael VeneziaMichael Venezia

Mayor, Bloomfield

Officers Biographies

Click on the tabs below to view full biographies for the League's current Executive Officers.

  1.  president's bio
  2.  1st vice president's bio
  3. 2nd vice president's bio
  4. 3rd Vice president's bio

Executive Officers Biographies

Click on the blue and yellow tabs above to view full biographies for each of the League's current Executive Officers.

James L. Cassella

James Cassella

League President (Mayor, East Rutherford)

The League’s new president, Mayor James L. Cassella, began his service to the people of East Rutherford in 1980, as Trustee of the Borough’s Board of Education.

During his five years in that capacity, he served on the Financial, Personnel and Contract Negotiations Committees. In 1985, he was elected to the Borough Council. Continuing on that body until 1995, he served as Chairman of the Finance, Fire, Police and DPW Committees. Mayor Cassella represented the Council in Contract Negotiations. Also, in continual service since 1985, he remains a member of the Joint Meeting Sewer Authority.

East Rutherford’s Mayor since 1996, he has also been, in addition to his other duties, an active member of the Hackensack Meadowlands Municipal Committee, including terms of office as Treasurer, Vice Chairman, and Chairman. In addition, he is a former Commissioner of the Bergen County Utilities Authority. For the past seven years, Mayor Cassella has served as a member of the New Jersey League of Municipalities’ Executive Board. He is also a League Legislative Committee Member.

A graduate of Felician College, Mayor Cassella is a recipient of, among other honors, the Meadowlands Regional Chamber of Commerce Leadership Award, the Hackensack Riverkeeper Excellence in Public Service award and the South Bergen PAC Outstanding Leadership Award.

Personal Life
Mayor Cassella has been happily married to his wife, Janice, for 28 years.