New Hersey State of Muncicipalities Facebook Twitter  Linkedin with NJSLOM NJSLOM YouTube Channel NJLM Blog       


New Jersey School Boards Association
P.O. Box 909 · Trenton, NJ 08605-0909 · Phone: (609) 278-5202 ·

New Jersey League of Municipalities
222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481 •

A  D  V  I  S  O  R  Y

EVENT:               Your School Budget Has Been Defeated: What’s Next?
                           An Interactive Telephone Conference for School District and Municipal Officials

DATE/TIME:         Thursday, April 22, Noon to 1 p.m.

SPONSORS:        New Jersey School Boards Association
                           New Jersey League of Municipalities

CONTACT:           Frank Belluscio, NJSBA,, (609) 278-5202 
                           Lori Buckelew, NJLM,, (609) 695-3481, Ext. 112

Reporters and editors are invited to listen in on a telephone conference, designed to help municipal and school officials navigate the complex review process for defeated school budgets.  The program, "Your School Budget Has Been Defeated: What’s Next?" will take place Thursday, April 22 from noon until 1 p.m.  It will be sponsored by the New Jersey School Boards Association and the New Jersey League of Municipalities.

Yesterday (April 20), New Jersey rejected the majority of proposed school budgets for the first time since 1976. Defeated school district budgets must be submitted to the corresponding municipal governing body for review in consultation with the school board.  The municipality must reach a decision on the 2010-2011 school tax levy by May 19.

The process is a complicated one, influenced by state law and regulation, as well as current levels of taxation and spending.

Presenters for the April 22 conference call represent municipalities and school districts that participated in the defeated budget review process in previous years, as well as state officials.

Bret Schundler, New Jersey Commissioner of Education
John Donahue, Executive Director, New Jersey Association of School Business Officials
Andrew Lucas, Mayor, Manalapan Twp.
Neil K. Cramer, Sussex Executive County School Business Administrator
Joseph Manzo, Chief Financial Officer, South Brunswick Twp.
Terry Sierchio, School Business Administrator, Hopatcong 
Michael F. Kaelber, Esq., Director of Legal & Policy Services, New Jersey School Boards Association, Moderator

To listen in on the conference call, reporters should obtain a toll-free number and access code by calling the NJSBA Communications Department at (609) 278-5202 or by sending an e-mail to Ann Marie Smith at by 11 a.m. Thursday.




Privacy Statement | NJLM FAQ
New Jersey State League of Municipalities • 222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481
  FAX: (609) 695-0151