New Hersey State of Muncicipalities Facebook Twitter  Linkedin with NJSLOM NJSLOM YouTube Channel NJLM Blog       


Thirteenth Annual Elected Officials Hall of Fame

Recognizing Decades of Leadership

Members of the 2012 Elected Officials Hall of Fame

Members of the 2012 Elected Officials Hall of Fame pose with League President Janice S. Mironov following their induction on February 6, 2013.

To recognize the many municipal governing body members who have selflessly served their communities for 20 years or more, the League created the Elected Officials Hall of Fame.

This year’s recipients were inducted into the Elected Officials Hall of Fame during the League’s Annual Mayors Legislative Day in Trenton on February 6, 2013. League President Janice S. Mironov, the Mayor of East Windsor Township, was pleased to recognize these individuals for their tremendous commitments of time and energy: “These elected officials are to be commended for their willingness to give of their time and energy for the public good. They have provided essential leadership to their communities through good times and bad, often with little recognition.”

League Executive Director Bill Dressel marveled at the experience of the Hall of Fame inductees. “It’s an honor to share the stage with you—in this room we probably have a total of over a thousand years of experience in local elected office. The wisdom and personal sacrifice that represents is an inspiration to everyone who serves in local government.”

Members of this year’s Hall of Fame, along with those of previous years, form a backbone of experience and commitment that is essential to the League’s lobbying efforts.

The Elected Officials’ Hall of Fame is reserved for those governing body members, active and retired, who have served 20 years in elected municipal office. The list of officials inducted this year is below. To view the full list, visit the League’s web site at To nominate an official, contact League Assistant Executive Director Michael Darcy at 609-695-3481, ext. 116.

Mayor Peter C. Elco, Absecon City
Mayor Paul H. Tomasko, Alpine Borough
Councilman George M. Warr, Barnegat Light Borough
Alderman Paul Nevadomski, Boonton Town
Mayor John Sanford, Branchburg Twp.
Committeeman Cosmo Laurella, Deerfield Twp.
Alderman James A. Visioli, Dover Town
Mayor J. Christian Bollwage, Elizabeth City
Councilperson Sharon Shutzer, Freehold Borough
Councilwoman Leslie G. Hamilton, Hardyston Twp.
Deputy Mayor George H. Beatty, Hope Twp.
Councilman Douglas E. Witte, Sr., Lake Como Borough
Councilman Elmo Mengucci, Lopatcong Twp.
Mayor Michael Fressola, Manchester Twp.
Mayor Joseph E. Wolk, Mount Ephraim Borough
Councilwoman Barbara Shafer, Neptune City
Mayor Harry L. Wynat, Jr., Phillipsburg Town
Councilman at Large Salvatore Mione, Rahway City
Councilwoman at Large Nancy Saliga, Rahway City
Mayor Fred A. Henry, South Amboy City
Committeeman C. Edman Budd, Southampton Twp.
Committeeman Charles M. Gross, Stillwater Twp.
Committeeman Michael A. Kovacs, Washington Twp. (Warren)
Mayor Shing-Fu Hsueh, West Windsor Twp


First Published in New Jersey Municipalities, Volume 90, Number 3, March 2013


Privacy Statement | NJLM FAQ
New Jersey State League of Municipalities • 222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481
  FAX: (609) 695-0151