New Hersey State of Muncicipalities Facebook Twitter  Linkedin with NJSLOM NJSLOM YouTube Channel NJLM Blog       


November 9, 2010

Re: 38 Towns Achieve Sustainable Jersey™ 2010 Certification

Counties of 2010 Certified Towns: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Essex, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Salem, Somerset, Sussex and Union

Dear Mayors:
Sustainable Jersey released the list of 38 towns that achieved Sustainable Jersey certification in 2010. Four communities raised the bar by meeting the new Silver Level of certification that requires the completion of more sustainable actions in the program.  Currently 326 or 58% of New Jersey towns have registered with the program and are pursuing the certification.  To see the list of the 2010 certified towns visit:

The newly certified towns join the inaugural 34 municipalities that were certified in 2009, bringing the total to 67 Sustainable Jersey certified municipalities.  The program is voluntary and each town has to meet and document their achievement of the required actions in a range of areas that include a commitment to environmental stewardship, conservation of energy and water and waste reduction and recycling.

The certified towns will be recognized at the second annual Sustainable Jersey awards luncheon on Tuesday, November 16, 2010 at the 95th Annual New Jersey League of Municipalities Conference.  Admission is open to the public, but the $35 tickets are going fast.  Visit the News, Events and Trainings page on for details on the luncheon.

Congratulations to the 2010 Sustainable Jersey certified municipalities!

Very truly yours,


William G. Dressel, Jr.                                                     Fred Profeta
Executive Director, NJ League of Municipalities                 Chair, Mayors Committee for a Green Future                          



Privacy Statement | NJLM FAQ
New Jersey State League of Municipalities • 222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481
  FAX: (609) 695-0151