New Hersey State of Muncicipalities Facebook Twitter  Linkedin with NJSLOM NJSLOM YouTube Channel NJLM Blog       


March 15, 2016

Re:   President Grants Major Disaster Declaration in 17 Counties for Winter Storm Jonas DR-4264

Dear Mayor:

Yesterday, President Obama granted the State's request for a major disaster declaration due to the severe winter storm event that included heavy snow, high winds, and flooding during the period of January 22-24, 2016. The declaration includes Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Somerset, Union, and Warren Counties.  The declaration authorizes the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to initiate its Public Assistance grant program to assist the impacted areas. FEMA's Public Assistance program provides grants to state and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations, for emergency work and the repair or replacement of eligible public facilities damaged by the disaster.

In addition, emergency "snow assistance" will be provided for the following counties: Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Somerset, Union, and Warren. FEMA's snow assistance program is activated as a result of a record snow fall event, and provides reimbursement for eligible snow-related expenses for a period of 48 hours.

The disaster declaration also authorizes activation of FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. For additional information on FEMA Aid programs click here.

The New Jersey Office of Emergency Management will continue to coordinate the recovery effort with local, county and federal partners in these affected counties.  Please review this notice with your local emergency management coordinator, who should be in contact with your County emergency management coordinator.


Michael J. Darcy, CAE
Executive Director



Privacy Statement | NJLM FAQ
New Jersey State League of Municipalities • 222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481
  FAX: (609) 695-0151