New Hersey State of Muncicipalities Facebook Twitter  Linkedin with NJSLOM NJSLOM YouTube Channel NJLM Blog       


November 6, 2012


Dear Mayor:

DEP Emergency Order

Today in Trenton, Department of Environmental Protection Commissioner Bob Martin has signed an Administrative Order allowing approvals of DEP permit requirements for in-kind repairs or replacement of critical public infrastructure such as roads, bridges, bulkheads and culverts.

Municipalities will have six months to provide needed documentation of storm damage for retroactive DEP approval for public infrastructures projects. That documentation is key to getting federal reimbursement for the emergency work.

In a Release issued today, Commissioner Martin said, "It will be very important for governments to follow this process because the Federal Emergency Management Agency requires proof that state environmental approvals were obtained before releasing disaster aid."

Commissioner Martin also reminded municipalities and private property owners that they do not need any DEP approval to move sand from roadways, streets, private properties and structures back onto beaches. Movement of sand once on beaches is permissible under each municipality's beach maintenance permit. The DEP, however, advises that these activities should only take place if it is safe to do so.

For a copy of the Administrative Order, visit:  For more information and resources, visit the DEP's Hurricane Sandy resources website at

Water Usage Restriction Update

Residents and businesses in the 36 towns served by the Middlesex County Utilities Authority's (MCUA) wastewater treatment system are advised to further minimize water use to reduce stress on the storm-damaged sewage treatment system and help limit polluting effluent now flowing into the Raritan River and Raritan Bay.

The following towns are served by the MCUA: Bound Brook, Bridgewater, Carteret, Cranbury, Dunellen, East Brunswick, Edison, Fanwood, Franklin Township, Green Brook, Helmetta, Highland Park, Jamesburg, Metuchen, Middlesex Borough, Milltown, Monroe Township, New Brunswick, North Brunswick, North Plainfield, Old Bridge, Perth Amboy, Piscataway, Plainfield, Sayreville, Scotch Plains, South Amboy, South Bound Brook, South Brunswick, South Plainfield, South River, Spotswood, Warren Township, Watchung and Woodbridge.

The Christie Administration's Executive and Administrative Orders on water use includes the following statewide water use restrictions, prohibitions and exemptions:

* All indoor water use, including showers, baths, toilet flushing, and domestic cleaning, must be conducted with minimum amounts of water;

* Non-essential outdoor water use is prohibited;

* Watering of grass, lawns and landscapes is prohibited except for newly sodded or seeded areas done by professional landscapers or immediately following a commercial application of fertilizer, pesticide or herbicides; minimum amount of water should be used during these applications;

* Use of water for washing paved surfaces, such as streets, sidewalks, driveways, garages, parking lots and patios is prohibited;

* Outdoor use of water for ornamental or aesthetic purposes, including fountains, artificial waterfalls, and reflecting pools is prohibited, except to preserve or support wildlife

* Use of water for municipal street sweeping is allowed only with non-potable water and with minimal use necessary;

* Use of water for power washing of buildings is prohibited except for commercial enterprises engaged in power washing, and with minimum water use;

* Car and truck washing, except for emergency vehicles, is prohibited;

* Commercial car washing is allowed but with reduced rinse cycles and use of recycled water for pre-rinsing of vehicles;

* Cars and trucks at dealerships may only be washed just prior to delivery, with wash time limited to three minutes;

* Serving of water in restaurants, clubs, or other eating establishments is prohibited unless specifically requested by patrons.

Very truly yours,

William G. Dressel, Jr.
Executive Director




Privacy Statement | NJLM FAQ
New Jersey State League of Municipalities • 222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481
  FAX: (609) 695-0151