New Hersey State of Muncicipalities Facebook Twitter  Linkedin with NJSLOM NJSLOM YouTube Channel NJLM Blog       


July 2, 2012

Property Tax Relief Restoration Next Steps.

Please Contact Undecided Legislators.

Dear Mayor:

This year, as never before, New Jersey Mayors united in an effort to end the State’s chronic dependence on municipal property tax relief revenues. Thanks to the efforts of local officials all around New Jersey, and the State officials who recognize and appreciate their service, we progressed ever closer to the restoration of vital municipal property tax funding.

A-2921/S-1900 would phase-in, over five years, the restoration of $331 million in municipal property tax relief funding. Municipalities had sacrificed that $331 million in State Fiscal Years 2009, 2010 and 2011, to support the State’s budget in those difficult years.

These bills were introduced and supported by Legislators who acknowledged that the restoration of these resources would allow Mayors to provide their citizens with real property tax relief this year. The bills, which garnered bipartisan support in both Houses, would have moved the State closer to compliance with the letter and intent of the 1999 law governing distribution of funds deposited in the Energy Tax Receipts Property Tax Relief (ETR) account and the Consolidated Municipal Property Tax Relief Aid (CMPTRA) program.

Support for the bills came from Mayors from all around New Jersey. North, South and Central Jersey - Republicans, Democrats and Independents – from cities, suburbs and rural communities – all lost property tax relief revenue in SFY 2009, 2010 and 2011. And all would gain property tax relief resources from A-2921/S-1900.
On behalf of Mayors all around our Garden State, and on behalf of the citizens they serve, we urged Governor Christie to approve A-2921. We also offered to meet with the Governor or his staff to address any questions or concerns they may have had with the bill.

Instead, referring to State budget concerns, the Governor has vetoed this initiative. As a result, this year, as in the past, these dollars will again be used to support State spending.
Having come this far, New Jersey Mayors cannot stop now. We intend to continue to push for the restoration of this relief when the Legislature reconvenes.

When the bill came before the Assembly on Monday, June 25, 14 Legislators abstained.
We hope that they will support our efforts in the future. Accordingly, we would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to discuss any questions or concerns they have with this proposal.

If your municipality is located in District 8, please reach out to Assemblymen Scott Rudder and Christopher J. Brown. If you are in District 9, please contact Assemblywoman DiAnne Gove. If you are located in District 11, call on Assemblywomen Mary Pat Angelini and Caroline Casagrande. Assemblymen Ron Dancer and Robert Clifton in District 12 also abstained on the vote. So did Assemblywoman Amy Handlin, who represents District 13 municipalities. If you are in District 21, reach out to Assemblywoman Nancy Munoz. Mayors in District 23 municipalities should contact Assemblymen John DiMaio and Erik Peterson. If you are located in District 25, please ask Assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll about his questions and concerns with the bill. And Mayors in District 39 municipalities can ask the same of Assemblywoman Holly Schepisi and Assemblyman Robert Schroeder.

We again remind you that for more information and a link to our latest Talking Points, you should visit our Restoration Resource Center at

If you have any questions, contact Jon Moran at 609-695-3481, ext. 121 or

Very truly yours,

William G. Dressel, Jr.

Executive Director



Privacy Statement | NJLM FAQ
New Jersey State League of Municipalities • 222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481
  FAX: (609) 695-0151