New Hersey State of Muncicipalities FacebookTwitter Linkedin with NJSLOM NJSLOM YouTube Channel       



July 1, 2011

                                                            Re:  Call for Nominations
                                                            Tenth Annual Innovation in Governance Awards

Dear Mayor:

The New Jersey Department Community Affairs and the League of Municipalities continue to recognize Innovation in Governance through an annual awards program.  We invite you to submit nominations for the award program based on this year’s theme – Innovative Cost Savings.

This year there are two categories for which municipalities may submit nominations:

-Cost savings through collaboration in public safety or judicial services
-Cost savings through collaborative concessions i.e. management-labor-staff collaborations; grass roots collaborations; multi-agency collaborations

This award program was established to highlight exemplary local government programs that provide innovative and practical approaches to solving municipal problems and concerns.  At the same time, we will share these innovative approaches with municipal leaders throughout the state at the 96th Annual League of Municipalities Conference Mayor’s Luncheon on November 16, 2011 at the Sheraton Hotel, Atlantic City.

This year’s judges include: BettyLou DeCroce, Deputy Commissioner, DCA; League Past Presidents Paul Matacera and Plainsboro Mayor Peter Cantu; Tom Neff, Director, Division of Local Government Services, DCA and League Executive Director Bill Dressel.

Enclosed please find details on submitting your municipality’s initiative for consideration.  Applications can also be downloaded from the New Jersey League of Municipalities’ and the Department of Community Affairs’ websites, at (Word / PDF) and respectively.  Since the nomination deadline is October 3, 2011, we encourage you to forward this information to all the appropriate people in your municipality today so they may meet this deadline.

If you have any questions on the Innovation in Governance awards, please contact Michael Darcy at the League of Municipalities 609-695-3481 ext 116 or

With regards,


BettyLou DeCroce
Deputy Commissioner
Department of Community Affairs

William G. Dressel, Jr.
Executive Director
New Jersey State League of Municipalities



Privacy Statement | NJLM FAQ
New Jersey State League of Municipalities • 222 West State Street • Trenton, NJ 08608 • (609) 695-3481
  FAX: (609) 695-0151